C Augmented Chord

Also known as:
Caug , C+

The Augmented Chord has an Augmented quality which includes a Major Third interval and an Augmented (raised or sharpened) Fifth that produces a mysterious, tense sound. Augmented Chord contains the notes C, E, G♯. The Augmented Chord is a Triad type chord which means it consists of only three notes, the Root C, the Third E, and the Fifth G♯.

Below you will find the Augmented Chord notes, notation, degrees, intervals, related scales and chords, and more.


C, E, G♯





C > C0Perfect Unison (P1)
C > E4Major 3rd (M3)
C > G♯8Augmented 5th (A5)

Scales related to C Augmented Chord

Different Spellings

Scales that include different spellings of all the notes of the C Augmented Chord.

VI+ Chord of F Phrygian Dominant Mode

Chords related to C Augmented Chord

If you want to learn what chords are and much more, check out our free Fundamentals of Music Theory course. If you already know some of the basics, you can jump straight into the chords lesson.

Learn more about Music Theory

More to learn